Wiley Taylor was employed in a local wholesale grocery business, known as Beaufort Grocery. He served several terms as a Beaufort Commissioner and worked on the mailboat to Ocracoke before his appointment as postmaster.
USPS: On August 31, 1933, Wiley Higgins Taylor Sr. assumed the postmastership at Beaufort. He retained that office for almost sixteen years. During Taylor's tenure, the town post office was relocated to 701–703 Front Street; he also supervised the hanging of one of Beaufort's unique assets, the post office murals. In 1940, Wiley Higgins Taylor Sr. was appointed "lifetime postmaster" for Beaufort by the United States Senate. He retired in May 1949.
1997 Survey: 2-story, Foursquare house with hipped roof, plain siding, hipped dormer, boxed eaves, interior brick chimney, sash with molded caps and front door with sidelights and transom. Hipped porch with Doric columns and turned railing.